The Beginning

1983 and 1984: The idea to form an all-embracing national Muslim women organisation was mooted by some committed Muslim women.

1985: FOMWAN was formally inaugurated in Minna, Niger State at the Islamic Education Trust with delegates from Ilorin, Lagos, Minna, Kaduna, Kano, Jos and Zaria

1985: Registration with the Corporate Affairs Commission was concluded.

Inaugural Meeting

Selection of a National Executive Committee and State Amirahs for the States present at the meeting was concluded and a working constitution was adopted for the guidance of FOMWAN, with emphasis on conduct of national and State elections in a peaceful and responsible manner. The maximum period of office for any elective post was fixed at four years. For ease of communication and effective discharge of their responsibilities, the constitution recommends that the Amirah, the secretary, the financial secretary and the treasurer be resident close to one another.

National Amirahs Since 1985

Aisha Lemu 1985-1989

Lateefat Okunnu 1989-1993

Sa’adiya Omar Bello 1993 -1997

Khairat O. Sodique 1997-2001

Hajiya Bilkisu (mni) 2001 -2005

Lateefah Durosinmi 2005-2009

Maryam Idris Othman 2009 – 2013

Amina B. Omoti 2013-2017

National Secretaries Since 1985

Halima Jibril 1985-1989

Fatima Oyekan 1989-1993

Fatima Ibrahim Aliyu 1993 -1997

Wasilat Muse 1997-2001

Maryam Idris Othman 2001 -2005

Lateefah Giwa 2005-2009

Azeeza Hassan-Jibril 2009 – 2013

Umaimah Momoh 2013-2017